How poor is your vocabulary?

Today a guy raised a big question mark onto my vocabulary, he advised me to use a thesaurus and thus use better words in my writing.

Yes I know, I may not have the best words under my sleeve, I may not have the most beautiful phrases and tongue twisting but vocabulary solely doesn’t decide the power of sharing your content. I believe that it too lies in the simplicity of your words, in the depth of your content, the suave in your substance, the charm in your matter and not just a bunch of fancy words.

If someone can feel the emotion I want to convey in my article using a vocabulary equivalent to a 5th grade kid, I would be happier than using words terra incognita, making the reader feel like an ape. If I would make you check the dictionary in every second sentence of your read, I don’t think its even worth reading, unless, you’re reading just for the sake of reading it. It’s not an encyclopedia damnit, or your chemistry textbook to mug up. If you read something and it hits you, I’d feel satisfied as an author. If I can make you feel the power of my words that they echo in your head a week after you’ve felt them, that is the best response I can achieve.

Very few people use/say/write/text some lengthy Salman Rushdie-ish love letter to their loved one and would rather say ‘I love you’ instead. Why? The girl may reject you because of your immensely poor vocab. Come on.

One thought on “How poor is your vocabulary?

Leave a Reply

